The Grote of Sint Janskerk (St. John’s Church) is one of the oldest buildings in Schiedam. This three-aisled hall church was built around 1335. This was the site of a smaller church in 1262.
The oldest pulpit in the Netherlands
The oldest part dates from 1400 and is formed by the chancel and the northern chancel. The tower is 54 metres high and dates back to the 15th century. The interior includes a set of Early-Renaissance organ pipes (approx. 1550), a baptistery with a copper screen (1642) and a bench for the aldermen and mayor. The pulpit dates from around 1550 and is adorned with beautiful carvings. It is probably the oldest pulpit in the Netherlands.
Gold leather wallpaper
The church has five stained-glass windows by Marius Richters (1952). The consistory is certainly worth mentioning. This room was renovated in 1773 and 1778 in rococo style. The interior is completely 18th century and the walls are lined with a unique gold leather wallpaper.
The tower houses a carillon with 38 bells. The 13 largest were supplied by Andreas de Gheyn in 1786.
The tomb of Saint Lidwina is located in the church. There is a statue of her in the garden behind the church.